One Year of Adventures

This week I celebrated my one year blog-o-versary! Woot Woot!

With 233 (make that 234) posts, 21 pages and three re-designs, it has been quite the journey. I am thankful for every view, every comment and every follower who has joined me along the way. I hope to continue bringing great adventures from my travels, more photography snippets into my life and maybe a few surprises along the way – not to mention 10 ultimate hikes!

I think what has impressed me most this year is just how much I learned and grew. From my writing and how I connect with people to my photography and organization, each post is a learning experience that I savor.

5 Great Things I have learned this year:

  1. Blogging pushes me to try new things
  2. There is beauty everywhere! Even in spider webs, fog & spandex
  3. I can’t cook and people love that (one of my top posts for the year is this burnt mess)
  4. Words can lead to self discovery
  5. Stories and photography bring people together

While my life has certainly gotten busier since April 2011, I am still excited for another fantastic year on The Joyful Shoehorn!

Let’s take a look at where in the world the past year went?

6 thoughts on “One Year of Adventures

  1. Happy birthday to your blog! 🙂 It sounds like you have been up to quite a bit over the past year. I love the diversity of your experiences–from snowshoeing to biking and ghost hunting. You definitely keep it interesting!

    I’m writing on behalf of KEEN Footwear because we’re trying our hardest to get people outside and active. We’ve launched our Recess campaign to motivate people to take a break and get outdoors. You’re inspiring because you stay active all year long. I’d love to have your expertise and input for this project.

    You can share your favorite hiking (http://recess.keenfootwear.com/get-high/) and biking (http://recess.keenfootwear.com/biking-about/) destinations. Let me know what you think!

    Cheers,
    Alison
    KEEN Recess Team

    1. Fantastic! Thanks for stopping by my blog. I love being active and encouraging others to get out there and explore as well. There is something so empowering about being out in nature and really living! Who cares if it is raining…or snowing! I’d love to help support your campaign anyway I can! What a great project!

      1. Thanks so much for supporting us! I love the photo you added. You can help us most by posting more of favorite hiking locations to the map and encouraging your friends to do the same. I’ll definitely contact you if we have more opportunities.

        Best,
        Alison
        KEEN Recess Team

Leave a Reply

