Everest or Bust!

In 2 months and 22 days, I will be set out on the adventure of a lifetime.

With two strong feet forward, I am going to trek to Everest Base Camp with Ace the Himalayas and my best friend. A 16-day round trip, we will hike the 40 miles to the highest mountain in the world (from Lukia to Everest BC) and enjoy daily visits to cultural sites, traditional villages and tea houses. Walking alongside mountaineers heading up for their attempt at the summit, the experience I imagine will be surreal and breathtaking – literally and figuratively.

I’m not yet sure where else this trip will take me, but I do know for sure that it represents a new direction and new path for my life. I will be leaving behind my job, my apartment and my comfort zone in Portland, Oregon and setting forth on the trail.

“It is not the mountain we conquer, but ourselves.” ―Edmund Hillary

Everest hiker

Please join me as I prepare for this journey both physically and mentally that begins on April 5, 2013. Who’s has some tips?

6 thoughts on “Everest or Bust!

  1. Oh my!! What an adventure!! Probably the only thing I have to suggest is give yourself time to acclimate to the altitude, because the base camp is still way higher than where you are in Oregon. Drink lots and lots and of water. Enjoy and take lots of photos for us!!

  2. Good luck! I once had serious dreams about getting to the North Col, but by the time I had the money to pay for it I also had a modern life. Base Camp is still on my list and I’m looking forward to reading about how you get on.

Leave a Reply

